Just Try to Photograph Me

I was running some errands last week and had a few minutes to kill so I went by the wetlands area across the street from where I used to work. It’s been really rainy lately so the wetlands is currently a small lake.

I saw a guy with a camera and long lens standing near the edge, so I stopped and joined him. I asked him if there were any interesting birds out today and he answered me with a long name I didn’t recognized and pointed across the lake, so I just said “Oh”. (Truth is, I’m not a real birder. I’m just a photographer who likes birds 🙂 .)

When I scanned the lake looking for the bird he was talking about, I couldn’t see any birds well enough to identify them. In fact, the only birds in sight were so far away that I needed my telephoto lens just to see them.

It was certainly not the best photo conditions. But I decided to take a few shots, hoping that when enlarged, they would help me identify the birds.

From this enlargement I’m pretty certain these birds are Cormorants, immature Brandt’s Cormorants to be precise. But I’m sure that’s not what the “birder” told me. But the species name is Phalacrocorax penicillatus. And that’s probably the name he gave me.

While we were talking, he noticed a Great Blue Heron in some brush right next to the bank not more than 12 feet from us. Normally that would be a great distance to get close shot. But there was so much brush between me and the heron and so little light that I couldn’t get a clean shot and my auto-focus was not!

I was going to pass on taking a shot. But before I left I decided to try to get something just as proof the bird was there. I had to manually focus the best I could and guess at the exposure.

Here is the result. Not a great picture because of all the out-of-focus brush in the way. But it came out better than I expected.

Digital Cameras are amazing.

Cheers – DJD
Rain since last posting: 3.0 inches. 2016 year to date: 56.75 inches.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

