Visitor at our “Bird Feeder”

There’s a Sharp-shinned Hawk that’s been visiting our backyard almost daily for a while. The visits are usually in the morning when I’m at work, so I haven’t had a chance to capture a photo until today.

I was watching football when I notice the hawk in the tree above our deck (and overlooking our bird feeders). I didn’t have my telephoto lens mounted on my camera so I had to run downstairs to get it, hoping the bird would still be there when I got back.

When I returned, the hawk was still there but he had turned around so now his back was toward me. I made some noise trying to get him to turn and face me. But all my action warranted was a fleeting glance by him over his left shoulder.

Then something in the distance caught his attention. He took a long look…

… and quickly took off. You can see him leaving just behind the brach in the lower right of this last picture.

From now on I’m going to keep my camera ready because I suspect he’ll be back…

Cheers – DJD
Rain since last posting: 17 in. 2015 year to date: 40.5 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

