Three Little Cuties

There are three cuties that regularly visit our backyard. Not only are they cute but they’re also the smallest of our regular bird visitors.

They’re also extremely hard to photograph because they are so small and they don’t usually stand still long enough for me to get a good shot.

The first shown here is the Bushtit. They never come alone but always arrive with a dozen or more of their best friends.

It’s like a traveling party, lot’s of noise and activity. It’s an intense feeding frenzy. Then they all move on together, looking for the next party.

The Black Capped Chickadee is the next on my list. The ones that visit our backyard are extremely shy. I’ve seen pictures of these little guys lighting on someone’s hand to feed. I really doubt you’ll ever see a picture like that on this blog.

I’ll be sitting in our family room and notice several Chickadees flitting around, landing on the railing, eating from our feeder or casually visiting our birdbath.

But when I go out and sit on the deck with my camera, they sit way up on a branch in the shade of our tree, waiting for me to look away. Then they’ll zip down to the feeder, quickly grab some seed, and zip back up to the branch.

I think they know how much I want to get a good picture of them and they’re doing their best to tease me. It’s become quite the game of cat and mouse but I’m determined to be patient and win.

This last guy is an Anna’s Hummingbird. If the coloring in the picture seems a little off it’s because it was taken late in the evening during the “Golden Hour”.

If you’ve been following this blog for long you’ve seen many pictures of these guys. And even though they are very active, they do hover or sit still for a moment which allows me to get a good shot from time to time. And they’re pretty fearless, so my sitting on the deck doesn’t tend to keep them from stopping in to visit the flowers.

I really love humming birds.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 1.0 in. 2013 year to date: 18.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

