Room to Breathe

For reasons too personal to write about, several weeks ago was extreamly long for me. So when Friday finally came along, I just didn’t have the energy to go out to lunch with my regular Friday-for-Lunch-Bunch. Instead I decided to take a short drive to Tualatin River National Wildlife Refuge, about 7 miles from work.

The refuge visitors center parking lot was nearly empty when I arrived and it was very quiet, as I had hoped. I found a place to sit in the shade, eat the lunch I picked up on the way there, and began to check out the wetlands.

At that moment, I was quickly reminded that the wetlands are pretty dry this time of year and, except for some geese in a distant pool, there were really no birds to be seen. So I finally settled back to eat my lunch and that’s when I finally really looked up, not looking for birds, but just looking.

What I saw was this amazing sky. The multiple layers of clouds painted across the wide open sky caused me to take a deep breath and the only word that came to mind was “Wow”. From my vantage point the pattern seemed to go on forever causing the sky to look so much bigger than when it’s just an empty blue canvas.

So for a moment I just sat back, relaxed, and continued to breathe it all in. This was exactly what I needed at the end of the week.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.0 in. 2013 year to date: 17.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Nature, Photography, Random musings

Leave a Reply

