Photographic Back Story

Since our kids were visiting last weekend, I had the opportunity to be outside taking pictures, lots of pictures. and during the process of sorting through all the pictures, deciding which ones to keep, I came across a three pictures that all had one thing in common. They were all taken from the back of the subject.

But, as you will see, when it comes to story telling effectiveness they are very different.

This first picture was taken quickly from a car as we were driving past (and no, I wasn’t driving). I didn’t have time to really think about the composition or about the story I was trying to tell. I just wanted to take the picture because of the unusual subject.

After taking a good look at the image, I saw many elements in the picture that could lead to very different stories. Here are some examples:

  • Would you really take this guys recommendation for a haircut?
  • Is he trying to dress for that traffic violation photo-op?
  • Would a unicycle be allowed to go through the drive-through?
  • Is he thinking about the PDX Heart Walk while riding a unicycle?

All in all a pretty confusing picture.

When I saw this second picture I actually laughed out loud. Two headless goats, one almost lost against the background, and two faceless people. Not exactly the picture you’d pick for your Facebook page.

So what’s the story? The only story told by this picture is that the photographer was having a hard time finding the right angle and was desperately taking pictures hoping to get something.

Now this brings us to the third picture. Again we have a picture from the back. But I think this picture tells a pretty clear story.

I see a Dad holding his daughter’s hand, giving her confidence and stability. I see a Mom with one hand wrapped around her daughter, giving her more security, while the other hand is in the water, showing that it’s safe to touch. And in response, I see their daughter reaching out, ready to touch the water herself.

I think it’s a perfect picture of a loving mom and dad giving their daughter confidence, security, and encouragement to experience something new in the world around her.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.25 in. 2013 year to date: 10.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: In Our Back Yard, Photography

Leave a Reply

