Can this Photo be Saved?

This weekend was not very conducive for outdoor photography in our back yard. It was mostly cloudy and rainy or overcast with lots of glare. Even the birds, my usual go-to models, were not very plentiful.

Now, I’m trying to get comfortable with my new Canon 100-400mm zoom “bird lens”, so I sneaked out on the deck today when there were a few Pine Siskins sitting in the adjacent trees to take some pictures.

The birds didn’t stay around very long so I only had time for couple of shots before they took off. Because of the strong back-lighting the birds came out very under exposed, as you can see above.

So the challenge changed from taking a picture to seeing if I could pull a usable photograph out of what I had with post processing.

I’m not going to go into a lot of detail here other than to say I used Adobe Lightroom software to adjust the overall exposure so that the details and colors of the bird would not be lost in the shadows.

Here’s the result after cropping to get a closer look. It isn’t the most pleasing bird photo because of the glaring white background. But it’s still amazing to me how much usable detail can be hiding in the shadows.

I don’t know if this photo was saved but it certainly was resuscitated.

UPDATE: I played around with this image a little more since I felt the one above was too stark. By adding some vignetting to soften and darken the background I think it looks better. Here is the result.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.0 in. 2013 year to date: 5.5 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Photography

Leave a Reply

