An Early Spring?

Today in our backyard, this Lesser Goldfinch was trying to tell me something. I’m not exactly sure, since I’m just learning to speak “Finch”, but I think he said something about an early Spring this year.

We don’t have a Groundhog in our back yard so I couldn’t use his opinion to corroborate the finch’s story. But there are Crocus’s popping up on the deck, our neighbor’s Camellia is starting to bloom, and the birds are starting to “chase” each other.

Feels like Spring is getting close.

And Now Some Unfinished Business…

Last fall I entered the 2012 Oregonian Homes & Gardens of the Northwest Annual Photo Contest sponsored by the Oregonian and Pro Photo Supply, winners to be announce in December.

As the year came to an end, I knew I hadn’t won any of the prizes because I hadn’t been notified. So you can imagine my amazement and joy when I opened the photo contest edition of the Home and Garden magazine and found my picture on the runners up page (middle of the page on the right side)!

My faithful readers will surely remember this picture from my posting, “Are You a Leaf or a Tree”, last August. This is actually the second time I’ve been a runner up in this photo contest and it’s still a thrill for me to see one of my photos in print.

If you want to see all the runner up photos just click here. Mine’s on the second page.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.75 in. 2013 year to date: 3.5 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

2 Comments on “An Early Spring?”

  1. Jody Says:

    Doug,
    That bird is a Lesser Goldfinch…http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/American_Goldfinch/id
    Jody


Leave a Reply

