Opening Day at Cat Frenzy

(Note: All these pictures were taken on opening day.)

“Hey! What’s all the commotion down there?”

“Haven’t you heard? Today is opening day at Cat Frenzy!”

“We’re new around here. What’s Cat Frenzy? It sounds like something we might want to avoid.”

“OK, listen up and I’ll tell you what I know about Cat Frenzy.”

“Cat Frenzy is a Project Feederwatch bird counting station that Jody runs each year in our back yard.”

“Project FeederWatch is a winter-long survey of birds that visit feeders at backyards, nature centers, community areas, and other locales in North America. FeederWatchers periodically count the birds they see at their feeders from November through early April and send their counts to Project FeederWatch. FeederWatch data help scientists track broadscale movements of winter bird populations and long-term trends in bird distribution and abundance.”

“Project FeederWatch is operated by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and Bird Studies Canada.”

“Wow, that’s pretty cool. But what does it mean to us?”

“Well, for one thing, it means that on counting days Jody always has the feeders full of premium bird seed. So don’t miss it and make sure you invite all your friends, too.”

“But don’t come near my feeder or I’ll chase you away. It’s mine and mine alone!”

“Don’t worry about me. I’m not the feeder type. But I do occasionally come up here to use the birdbath and, like today, I just have to see what’s going on.”

“It’s like a big party and I just love a party! With all the activity there is usually enough seeds scattered around to keep me happy as well”

“I don’t visit the feeder either but I do enjoy the seeds that fall to the ground below. I have heard stories of the a Junco that ate from the feeder. But I’m not sure I believe the legend myself.”

“Well, I’ve seen this drill before. I know I need to get in and out of the suet feeder quickly to compete with the BIG birds.”

“Most people have me pegged as a pushy and aggressive bird. But I can be patient and wait for my Flicker buddy to finish before moving in.”

“Seriously? Can’t you wait till I’m done? If you ask me, with regard to pushy and aggressive, you European Starlings take the cake.”

“Come on boys. How about showing some manners and letting ladies go first next time? And what’s up with all that banging on the corner of the roof every morning?…”

I hope you enjoyed opening day at Cat Frenzy as much as I did. Watching all the birds that visit our back yard is really fun and entertaining.

But one of the saddest jobs Jody has during the Feederwatch season is identifying sick birds that hang around the feeders. We’re going to have to keep watching this guy because he’s exhibiting behavior consistent with a sick bird, sitting to the side, not interacting with the other birds and just struggling to keep warm on a cold day.

Feederwatch Tally Sheet for this weekend:
Pine Siskins – 40
Bushtits – 9
Juncos – 8
Flicker – 3
Lesser Goldfinch – 3
Anna’s Hummingbird – 2
Chickadee – 2
House Finch – 2
Steller’s Jay – 2
Bewick’s Wren – 1
Crow – 1
Downy Woodpecker – 1
European Starling – 1
Fox Sparrow – 1
Goldfinch – 1
Robin – 1
Western Scrub Jay – 1

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.0 in. 2012 year to date: 48.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

4 Comments on “Opening Day at Cat Frenzy”


  1. Too much fun! I can just hear their comments. What a relaxing way to spend time.

  2. flora Says:

    beautiful pics!


  3. […] I mentioned near the end of the post “Opening Day at Cat Frenzy”, sometimes we have sick birds that come to visit. When that happens, the feeder needs to be taken […]

  4. Belinda Says:

    Beautiful post ! thanks for posting


Leave a Reply

