Family Portrait

Note: I’m sorry for missing so many weeks but it’s been a crazy busy here the last couple of months and I haven’t had the opportunity to get out and really focus on taking pictures. But I want to get back in rhythm again, so here is a quick post to help get me started.

A little over a month ago we noticed little clumps of grass dug up all over our back yard. The evidence was pretty clear that someone, probably a raccoon, was digging for grubs at night.

Then, late one night when jody was filling the bird feeders on the deck, she called me in my study to tell me there was something in the backyard and I should get my camera. I quickly grabbed my camera and headed to the back door.

I looked out the window and could see a couple raccoon poking around in the grass. I turned on the patio light and then I could see that there were four raccoons, one adult and three juveniles. So I stepped outside and started taking pictures. The raccoon family quickly decided that I was a threat and started exiting up a tree and over a fence.

I’d only gotten a couple of blurry pictures of the backside of a raccoon and I figured my photo op was over. But then I noticed a pair of shining eyes looking back at me from the tree. It seemed this raccoon’s curiosity had overcome his fear.

As I watched and waited, a second and then a third raccoon came back into view, joining their sibling in the tree to check me out. Finally mom joined them as well. So the whole family was there in the tree together, kindly giving me another photo op.

If I knew where they lived, I’d send them a framed copy of this family portrait to hang in their den.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.0 in. 2012 year to date: 37.75 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

