Unexpected Moment

You know how, when you’re working in the yard, maybe doing some weeding, and suddenly you see something and think, “that might make a interesting photo”?

You don’t?

Well, if you’re really a photographer then eventually you will. Because that’s what happened to me yesterday.

After mowing the lawn I was doing some weeding. While pulling weeds around our Japanese Maple I saw this single Viola blossom in a bed of Corsica Mint. A little voice said to me “that’s an interesting contrast. An out of place item. You should take a picture of that.”

Taking the picture was actually easier said than done. The wind was blowing, so I had to be extra patient and wait for a calm moment to take the exposure. And the sun kept peeking from behind the clouds casting a harsh shadow across my scene, which I also had to work around.

But in the end I finally got my picture. It didn’t turn out as good as I had hoped, but now I won’t be wondering how great that picture might have been if only I had taken a moment to take it.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 0.0 in. 2012 year to date: 37.75 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Around the House, Flowers, In Our Back Yard, Photography

Leave a Reply

