A Stalker in Our Back Yard


“Catch me if you can!”

Call me a stalker, but ever since the Chickadee babies fledged weeks ago I’ve been trying to get a good picture of the them. Originally there were three of them and I’d see them occasionally all gathered around the suet feeder. But they never stayed in one place long enough for me to capture them with my camera.

Now there only seems to be two of them hanging around our deck. I’m not sure what happened to number 3, but I hang on to the hope that he just decided to strike out on his own and is off seeing the bigger world.

As I said above, getting a shot of these guys is a real challenge. To give you an idea of what I’m up against I created a slide show illustrating the typical sequence I observed over and over again.

  1. I have to be patient and wait focusing on the empty feeder because once he shows up it’s too late to aim the camera.
  2. All of a sudden he’ll show up on the edge of the feeder and scan the contents.
  3. Finding his target he’ll dive into the feeder…
  4. and come up with his prize.
  5. Then he’ll quickly turn around,
  6. leap to the edge of the feeder..
  7. push off the edge…
  8. and fly to a branch in a nearby tree..
  9. where he’ll eat his seed at a safe distance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It all happens much faster than the slide show, of course, but I think you get the idea.

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 1.5 in. 2012 year to date: 37.75 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

