A New Wake-Up Call

One evening last week, Jody and I were sitting in the family room watching TV when I heard something that sounded like either a small caliber automatic rifle or someone twisting a large rusty bolt off of a rusty pipe.

After listening for a few more minutes I came to the brilliant deduction that I was hearing something pounding on the screen cap on top of our chimney. So I decided to go outside a see who was making all the noise.

I couldn’t see the bird very well because our chimney is three stories up. But it looked sort of like a flicker which we see quite often in our back yard. I threw a small stone at him and was quickly reminded, by the pain in my shoulder, that this was not a good idea. So I went back inside.

The following morning, we were awaken by the same noise coming from our chimney. Who was this guy? Later that morning Jody got a look at this guy and took a picture in an effort to identify him. Her picture was a little blurry but he looked like some sort of Sapsucker.


“Yeah, it’s me making all the noise. What’s ya gonna do about it?”

Friday morning I heard him start up again while I was eating breakfast. I didn’t want to let this opportunity get away so I ran to the basement, got my camera and went out on the deck to get this shot of him. Now we could correctly identify this good looking guy as a Red Breasted Sapsucker.

I do know he’s just try to attract a mate with all his noise and I don’t begrudge him that. But we really don’t need a new wake-up call, so I hope, for our sake, that he finds the Sapsucker of his dreams soon.

(Note to my faithful readers: Jody reminded me last night that I haven’t posted anything to my blog for a couple of weeks. Well… sorry, but I’ve been busy.)

Cheers – DJD

Rain since last posting: 3.0 in. 2012 year to date: 36.25 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature

Leave a Reply

