Don’t Sneak Up on Me!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to get better, closer, sharper pictures of my feather friends in our back yard.

I have a pretty good setup for capturing photos of the birds on our deck because we have three large windows that look out onto our deck from our family room. I’ve published a lot of pictures taken through those windows on this blog. But there are several downsides to taking pictures that way.

First there’s the issue of optical distortion caused by shooting through the double-pane window glass. Then there is the light loss do to the low-E coating on our windows. And finally, there’s the extremely limited points of view I have access to.

If I sit out on the deck I have to sit very still, and it usually takes a long time before the birds start coming around. And I just can’t get as close as I’d like. So I thought I’d try triggering my camera remotely.


“What’s That?! Who’s There?!”

Last week I got this cool wireless remote shutter release so I tried it out this weekend. For this first trial I set up the camera relatively close to the bird feeder so I could use my 100mm lens and presumably get a nice sharp image without disturbing the birds with my presence. So much for theory.

Since I was sitting inside I couldn’t hear my camera but I could see the birds react almost every time I took a picture. I figured they were reacting to the sound of the shutter which would have already captured their image before they had time to move.

But when I took my camera back into the house to check the pictures, I had mostly pictures like the one shown here. The only thing I can figure is that the birds were reacting not to the shutter but to the sound of the autofocus or the image stabilizer turning on. In any case, I just got a bunch of pictures of startled birds. Not exactly the effect I was going for.

So now it’s back to the drawing board…

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.0 in. 2012 year to date: 33.25 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

