It’s What’s for Dinner at the “Home Sweet Home”

Last week, as I was doing some yard work, I noticed activity near a birdhouse in our back yard. Whenever I walked past, a chickadee would make a frantic dash between the birdhouse and a nearby tree. This could mean only one thing.

So today, since it wasn’t raining (we set a 1 hour rain fall record yesterday), I decided to get out there and try to catch the bird in action. I took a position up against our fence, just oposite the birdhouse and waited for any sign of activity.

I didn’t have to wait long. Soon a little face peeked out at me as if to say “Seriously?! Isn’t raising babies hard enough without having to worry about some curiosity seeker lurking about?” And then she took of.

There were actually two birds making trips to and from the birdhouse. Mom and Dad were tag teaming the chicks and they were very busy.

As they arrived at the birdhouse, they would usually dive right in but sometimes they paused long enough at the opening for me to get a picture. I noticed them carrying various things into the house but the one that caught my eye was this neon green something. I figured it had to be some sort of grub or caterpillar but I wasn’t close enough to really identify it.

This morning, as I was going out to get the paper, I noticed something neon green on the sidewalk. And when I took a good look a it, I saw it was a little green caterpillar. I knew it had to be the same thing they were so busy bringing to the chicks.

So now we know what’s for dinner at the “Home Sweet Home”. It’s Caterpillar tartare.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 3.25 in. 2012 year to date: 33.25 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Around the House, Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

