What a Surprise

To Freddy’s shock and surprise, he suddenly realized he was not alone on the bird bath. Now the only question was “what to do next?”

This is sort of how I felt last Thursday night…

As I was driving home, about 9:00PM, approaching the corner where I would turn into the cul-de-sac where we live, I saw an animal flash across the street in front of me. I didn’t get a good enough look to tell what it was but it didn’t look like it belonged in our neighborhood.

As I drove into our driveway, I noticed what looked like a medium sized dog standing in our neighbor’s yard cautiously watching me. I knew right away it was a coyote. I know there are coyotes around because Jody has heard their cries and seen them before, but I haven’t. So I was excited to finally have that opportunity.

After I parked my car in the garage I walked out to the front and looked around to see if the coyote was still around. To my surprise, a second coyote came running up the street to join the first waiting for him on our neighbor’s lawn.

As I stood still watching them, they quickly darted around around the neighborhood most likely looking for food (I’m sure glad our cat lives indoors). Suddenly one of them realized I was there, stopped right across the street, turned and just stared at me.

We stood there for quite a while just looking at each other. I didn’t have my camera with me so I pulled out my iPhone. But it was much too dark to get a picture. Finally I decided to go inside and tell Jody, knowing that they would be long gone by the time I could return with a real camera so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 1.0 in. 2012 to date: 1.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

