On Their Way South

My office is a couple hundred yards from a suburban wetlands area. Last week, while I was working at my computer, I could hear the sound of geese outside my window somewhere close by.

When I looked out my window, I saw hundreds of birds flying in circles over head. So I decided to walk across the street to check out the action in the wetlands. And of course I took my camera along.

When I got to the vantage point overlooking the wetlands I saw thousands of geese coming and going, swimming and sitting, eating and talking. This wetlands is obviously a well know rest stop on the migration path south.

I didn’t have the right lens to properly capture such a large group photo so here is an action shot of some of them heading on their way.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.5 in. Year To Date: 50.0 in

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature

Leave a Reply

