Frozen in Time

Jody and I had a chance to get away to the coast for a much needed break last week. The weather was great and we spent a lot of time just walking on the beach and talking.

I also took advantage of the location to take some pictures, of course. I’m still getting used to my new camera (happy Birthday to Me), and in particular the advanced auto focus mode’s ability to track moving subjects. I thought shooting birds in flight would be a good test. But it seems I’ve still got plenty to learn, since I ended up with a lot of pictures of blurry sea birds.

I also took a number of scenic shots, some of which included people in the foreground or background. As I processed these pictures I started to think about how photographs are really frozen moments in time. And that moment can include a piece of someone’s life story.

The picture above includes a man and his dog. On closer examination I can tell you the dog has a red ball in it’s mouth and the man has one of those doggy ball launchers. Their life story brought them to the beach at that moment in time. And in that moment, our life stories overlapped in a small way because I took this picture.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.5 in. Year To Date: 46.75 in

Explore posts in the same categories: In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography, Random musings

Leave a Reply

