Bear in the Back Yard

Last weekend, after having a nice dinner with Chris and Annie, we were all sitting around the table on the deck, enjoying the sunset and the warm evening. Sometime during the conversation I happen to look up and to my surprise I saw the Bear, Ursa Major, perfectly framed by the trees in our back yard.

Well, to be perfectly correct, what I really saw was the Big Dipper which is only part of the constellation Ursa Major, or Large Bear, but I digress.

Anyway, I was surprised because we haven’t spent much time on the deck after dark this summer. And some of the trees that used to obscure more of the western sky view have been removed. But when I saw it I knew I had to try and get a picture.

So the next night I was out on the deck with my camera and tripod ready to capture the “bear” as soon as it got dark enough. The first thing I realized was how difficult it is to capture stars in the Portland metropolitan area. There is so much light pollution that it’s hard to get bright stars against a really dark background. And if I waited too long, the stars I wanted to capture would rotate down and be obscured by the trees.

Not having any experience in astrophotography, I took several pictures. And after some contrast enhancing post processing, this it the picture I’m most pleased with.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.0 in. Year To Date: 46.00 in

Explore posts in the same categories: In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

