Flowers within Flowers

One of the things I love about photography is the way it helps me see things that I normally miss observing a scene with my own eyes. This is even more true with macro photography.

Macro photography is close-up photography, usually of very small subjects. I have an extension tube that fits between my lens and my comera and allows me to turn my normal lenses into macro lenses.

These are pictures of flowers in our garden right now. The actual size of the inner part of these flowers is less than an inch across so what you see here is about 4X larger than real life.

But these pictures really come alive when you click on them which takes you to the Picasa image page and then select the zoom control (the little image of a magnifying glass). This allows you to make them really big and see the features in more detail.

In the upper photo I’d point you to the curly-cue shapes. Blown up I think they look like a flowers with the flower.

In this lower photo I’d direct your attention to the orange shapes in clusters of five. When you zoom in on these you will see that they look very furry and have a bunch of pollen in the middle.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.0 in. Year To Date: 46.00 in

Explore posts in the same categories: Flowers, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

Leave a Reply

