The Waiting Paid Off

After my disappointing results last week, I decided to “stalk” Zippy in the evenings after dinner to see if I could get a clear shot. I planted myself on the deck, partially hidden by our Weber and a deck tree not far from the agastache rupestris.

This proved to be the correct formula. Before long I was visited not only by Mrs. Zippy but also by one of the Rufous hummingbirds who have recently returned to our back yard, focusing on the agastache and forgetting about me.

Taking photos of hummingbirds is always challenging because they’re constantly in motion. But near sunset it’s even harder because in order to use a high enough shutter speed to capture a moving hummer, I had to use the highest ISO setting on my camera which tends to make the resulting image noisy.

Another obstacle that has caused me problems in the past is getting a good exposure with varying backgrounds. Depending on where the bird might pause as it flitted from flower to flower, the background could be the dark shade of a tree or the still relatively bright clear sky.

I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I usually set my camera in one of the auto-exposure modes letting the camera determine the proper exposure settings. And since the background affects the overall exposure, this variation of background could cause the bird to be over or under exposed.

This week I finally realized that using a manual exposure setting would solve this problem and it allowed me to get a consistently exposed bird no matter what the background happened to be. (I may be a slow, but better late than never 🙂 )

You can click here if you want to see more pictures taken on the deck at sunset.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 0.0 in. Year To Date: 46.00 in

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Nature, Photography

2 Comments on “The Waiting Paid Off”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Yay! I love those tiny feet.

  2. Chris Says:

    That is a sweet picture. Nice job.


Leave a Reply

