Color in the Breakfast Garden

Even though it’s been unusually cool and wet this summer, the flowers in our back yard don’t seem to mind. In fact they seem quite happy as you can see from this picture of our “Breakfast Garden”.

I call this the “Breakfast Garden”, not because we eat breakfast there, but because it’s such a pleasant place in the morning. The light coming from the morning sun is filtered by the Maple tree. The fence gives enough privacy while still letting you feel connected to the morning activities taking place on the street.

I also have a special feeling toward this garden because I designed and build it, pretty much cut and placed all the blocks by myself about ten years ago (with a little help from Chris). It’s a far cry from the original garden area we had in this space and I know Jody would agree with me when I say it’s a much nicer place to be.

I guess when it finally stops raining, I’ll have to try eating breakfast here after all.

Cheers – DJD

Rain for the week: 1.5 in. Year To Date: 46.00 in

Explore posts in the same categories: Flowers, In Our Back Yard

Leave a Reply

