I’m Convinced

Recently I’ve been trying out some new digital photo processing software (I can use all the help I can get). Up till now I’ve always used the software that came standard with my camera. It’s OK but pretty basic and it doesn’t have some of the more advanced features available today.

The two software packages I ended up focusing on were Apple’s Aperture and Adobe’s Photoshop Lightroom. First I read lots of reviews that compared their strengths and weaknesses. I visited their respective web sites and watched videos explaining how they worked and how I would benefit from using each product. Finally, I was able to download 30 day evaluation copies of each of these applications and run them through their paces.

In a lot of ways they were very similar. But in one category, noise reduction, Lightroom seemed to have a significant edge. Noise reduction is especially important when you’re shooting with a high ISO setting and using a high ISO setting is necessary when you are taking pictures of something that is moving in relatively low light (like hummingbirds on your deck in the evening).

To test this out for myself I went back and found a number of photos I took using the highest ISO setting my camera supports. Previous attempts to “develop” these pictures turned out too noisy for my taste. But now, as you can see by this week’s photo, they became quite usable.

So superior noise reduction, added to the fact that Lightroom works on both my Mac and my PC, convinced me to go with Adobe. Now it just comes back to me to take more interesting pictures.

Cheers – DJD

PS: Don’t forget to cast your vote in my Photo Preference Poll. If you don’t see the poll to the right, you’ll have to visit my home page and it will be in the right hand column.

Rain for the last 2 weeks: 3.25 in. Year To Date: 31.0 in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birds, In Our Back Yard, Photography, Random musings

Leave a Reply

